Am I pursuing a job or a career?


“There is a great deal of difference between a job and a career, a place of employment and a rendezvous with destiny” – TD Jakes, in his best-seller Instinct.

TD Jakes’ book is more about finding your destiny, your calling, by following your instinct. You would think what can one write on just “instinct” but you’ll be surprised!

I’m writing mostly for myself, but you can join me on my journey to step out and fulfill your destiny.  I’ll be sharing what struck me the most and my notes, and here’s the best part – you can add your own notes! 

Jakes uses the examples of how animals do life just by instinct – how a lioness naturally stalks her prey, how mother birds build nests, and build them high enough to elude predators or the way bees know to extract pollen. Nobody teaches them these things. They just do it by instinct. In the same way, we need to get in touch with our instinct!instagram

I’ve always believed in what Jakes says here. I have never liked to just have a job that I’m not passionate about. All my working life, I have followed my passion, but I feel the last 3 years, I might have just “settled down.”  Got a good job, part-time, pays decently well (read v. well) and gives me time to do my ministry. But I feel gravitated towards more – it’s like this longing in my spirit – like I can feel the birth pangs.

Honestly, I am pregnant with a vision and I can’t deny that I am carrying! On one level, I am right in my calling, as a communicator of the Gospel and on another level, I want to press on towards that which pulls me, into another dimension, within the same vision. If I remain complacent here, I will never have that rendezvous with destiny.

Another place in the book he says, “Following our instincts can make the crucial distinction between what we are good at – our vocation or skill set – and what we are good for – the fulfillment of our purposeful potential.”

When I’m working for something that falls in the category of “what I’m good FOR” it just breathes meaning, purpose and a deep sense of satisfaction into the routine. When I’m working for “what I’m good AT” I will always have that nagging feeling inside my gut that something is missing in my life.

Do you feel you are pursuing a job (place of employment) or a career (rendezvous with destiny)? What stops you from working in your field of passion?

Feel free to write in the comments box below.

(Jakes also addresses the issue of earning bread for the family and having to work other jobs besides the one you’re passionate about, in another chapter. )

Instinct on Amazon: Buy at Amazon
Instinct on FlipkartBuy at Flipkart

 

Leave a Reply

