18 Weeks: We are in this together!


In course of a discussion, Mark said, “We booked for our vacation when we didn’t know we were pregnant.” He said “we” are pregnant.
Selah. (pause and think about that)

That was a selah moment for me – it’s not just me, I know I am carrying a baby, and the womb is mine, my body is getting bigger, but the seed is his. And I’m not trying to put anybody down here, so don’t get me wrong on this one. I have seen many husbands who send their wives away to her mother’s house not just for 3 months but a whole 9 months, and they visit the wife on weekends. That somehow doesn’t sit well with me, or us. I know that in many cases husbands have work to go to and feel it best to leave the woman at home with her mom. I understand those situations. Somehow, for us it works differently, at least for my first pregnancy.

FullSizeRender_2We both chose careers that don’t suck the life out of us, and it is a deliberate choice we made. That is actually making it possible for us to be together, in these precious 9 months. Practical aspects apart, what touches my heart and leaves me breathless is how my husband wants to be a part of every moment of this journey. Right from our first doctor’s appointment down to helping me eat short meals every two hours, he is totally sold out for this cause.

And he is all ears when we’re at the doctor, remembering what tablets I need to take, and constantly checking on me. Since my cravings have changed, so has his grocery shopping, and even cooking. He tried out a variety of recipes just to see me happy – made salmon and egg pie, delicious mutton curry and rice, my morning favorite toast and omelette, and the list goes on. It’s almost like he suddenly developed the heart of a mother. And I can’t stop being grateful. Infact, now it has come to a stage that I cannot live without him too long – even when I go to my mom’s house for a day or two, when he is on a shoot, I just can’t wait for him to come back. He is home for me. I’m not pregnant alone and left on this journey by myself – we fell in love together, we faced challenges together, we moved houses together, we shifted careers together, and we are pregnant, together – we are in this, together.

Salmon and egg pie
Mark made delicious and healthy, salmon and egg pie

The one who sowed the seed is equally interested in its growth, and wants to be with me every stage, until I bring forth the fruit – our little baby. It is the same with our God – He will never plant a dream in your heart, without promising to be with you at every stage, until you see it come to pass. He promised Jacob, “I am with you, and I will protect you wherever you go … I will not leave you until I have finished giving you everything I have promised you.” (Gen 28:15). He called Abraham to come out of his household, and did not leave him half way to figure out stuff on his own. God was with him till the end. Or may be it is a word of promise you are waiting on – a seed which you have sown – beloved, I want you to know that the Holy Spirit is right after that seed, to bring it to fruition in your life – He is the one who caused the Word to become Flesh, and as you cooperate with Him in faith, He will help you see that fruit. Fruit-bearing has always been an intimate process. Jesus said, “I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit.” (John 15:5). 

Do you see those words – remain in me, and I in you? It talks of an intimate relationship, and just by being in that relationship of love, we will naturally bear fruit.

Take heart. Hear God’s voice say to you, “I’m not leaving you alone in this phase. I will help you, protect you and make this enjoyable for you – you are pregnant with a dream, and I’m in this with you. We are in this together. I was there when the seed was sown, and I am responsible to make sure that seed bears fruit.”

The baby in my womb has also been conceived out of intimacy. We were busy loving each other, and the product is a child.

Mark, donning the role of an audio engineer, as I get ready to preach at our ministry.

I wonder how many believers will live their dreams, instead of just dreaming them, if they only focus on intimacy with the Father. I counsel many people on a regular basis, and some of them just want solutions to problems, temporary ones, a quick fix. When I tell them that the only lasting solution for any problem is an intimate relationship with God, they don’t like that. Because relationship costs you – it takes time and responsibility and commitment. It’s easier to just ask “tell me what to do,” “give me a list of do’s and don’ts” – basically, give me the Law, I don’t want intimacy. That tree of the knowledge of good and evil was forbidden then, and is still forbidden now. We just want to know WHAT to do, and that is religion. Jesus came preaching a kingdom, a relationship, not religion. He was vehemently against religion. His only goal was to reveal the heart of the Father, and reconcile people back to God. Grace makes intimacy possible, law just makes religion possible.

When you chose intimacy, you will see yourself fulfilling your mandate to be fruitful, multiply, and have dominion, naturally than on purpose. God chose intimacy over religion – that’s why He promises you his presence forever, no matter how many times you mess up or fall short. Hear him say, “From the time you believed in me, we have been in this together.”

3 comments

  1. Awesome article on living the dream and watching it manifest step by step with each passing day. Great message on faith. Wish you God’s richest and choicest blessings on this particular phase of your life. Your articles are truly shaping up with more intimacy about the Father’s unconditional love. Thanks for being a blessing!

  2. Take care, my dear Shruthi and Mark. I am with U on your journey too. Your first child will be a revelation — helping U to discover other aspects of who U can become. 🙂

Leave a Reply

