What do you see in the mirror?


How do you see yourself? – Trouble, tragedy, problem, mistake, not-talented, not-good, not-bad, good-for-only-somethings, big mess, ‘OK’ ??

Woman Looking at Reflection

What do you see in the mirror Abram?

I see a rich man, who is childless, without an heir.

God: You see a childless man, wanting to be a father. I see a Father of many nations.  You see ‘Abram’ (exalted father)  – I see ‘Abraham’(father of a multitude).

You see yourself based on what you have been through, or based on your tragedy, your current situation, your biggest trouble, but God sees you through who you are and who you are going to be.

You see problem, he sees potential.

What do you see in the mirror, Ruth?

I see a widow, a foreigner, in a foreign land with a bitter mother-in-law.

God: You see a widow. I see the great grandmother of Jesus.

A young 17-year old white pianist gets pregnant with a black man, in 1971, during times when colored people didn’t mix. Her family saw trouble. She was asked to abort or leave. She left home.

A promising pianist, 8 months pregnant, battling drug addiction, ‘unfit’ mother, 17,000 miles from home in California, on the streets. A lady walks up to her and says, “I don’t know you, and I don’t want to give you a hard time, but I was driving by and I really felt that I needed to come tell you Jesus loves you. You’re not forgotten. You did the right thing. It’s going to be all right.”

She gave her a Bible. Right there, she gave her heart to Jesus, praying, “God I’m committing my baby to you, I’m asking you to use him to do great things.” She named him Israel, as she kept seeing that name repeated in the Bible.

The mother’s musical gifts passed on to the son, fully multiplied – he could play any instrument, write songs and arrange music. He began writing and singing worship songs that declared God’s goodness. He and his band New Breed went on to win Grammy awards.

We sing his songs of hope today – with thousands of people all over the world – I’m a friend of God, Lord you are good and your mercy endures forever, I am not forgotten!

We’re talking about Israel Houghton!

When the family saw trouble, the mother saw treasure. They saw problem, but she saw potential.

Beloved, Jesus looks at you and sees who you truly are to him and what He can do through you.  He can never abandon you or forsake you, or leave you to suffer.

“The Lord has declared today that you are his people, his own special treasure” – Deut 26:18

Look in the mirror and say: I am not ‘Trouble,’ I am God’s own ‘Treasure.’

(Next post: A man found treasure worth investing his all!)

 

3 comments

  1. Joy, this is excellent and so inspirational! I am sure your writing is a great blessing to many many people. Keep up the good work and God bless you!

Leave a Reply

