Day 2: Massage, Supper and Memories – Mark’s first letter to me …


I went for a relaxing massage at Paris De Salon, thanks to my dear friend Elvis who sponsored it, and to my dearest bridesmaids Veena and Preethima who drove me back and forth for it.

A chinky girl, cute and small, with accent I could barely understand, did a terrific job. I got a dry and with-olive-oil massage for 90 minutes, out of which the last 20 min was for steam and shower. Since she was small, at one point, cos of the pressure, I wondered if she was walking over me and I turned and looked, and thankfully, she was walking over my body with her hands. Small she was, but powerful. She massaged at the exact pressure points, and I don’t know why it hurt me so much at the calf muscles.

I was wondering why I could not have that calm-sweet-smile expression on my face, during the massage – the expression that we see on the models who pose for these massage-ads. I recall seeing a huge billboard at Leonia, of a lady sleeping, with a smile, as if she was totally enjoying the massage, and the funny stones placed on her bare back. I kinda imagined I would feel that way, and that I was obliged to give a pleasant expression. Bull! My face was red, and I was totally enjoying it but it is that painful-pleasure. At some points, it aches a lot, but I can feel the relaxing stretch when she releases that particular muscle. All said and done – fabulous way to release stress. But of course, you have to scold yourself not to think about any to-do lists, and only then you can enjoy the massage.

On our way back, Preethima and me stopped for coffee at Ofen which had a huge Christmas tree made out of Coke-cans. Cool. Coffee, sandwich and conversations of the whole journey thus far with your best friend – can’t get better than that.

When I came back home, I somehow felt like fishing out the email that Mark had first written to me expressing his love officially on paper. I began to consider him, and check him out – and during that time, I was reading book that talked about how we must look for qualities that last, in our life partners.

And how we must also look for those who look for the same in us. And a good test would be to ask the person who proposed, why exactly he wanted to marry you. When Mark sent me that email – I read, read and re-read it so many times. I never told him anything about it, except after one year, when I said yes. I was moved to tears – really.

And with his permission, I would like to share it with you:

From: Mark Chouhan <chouhan18@gmail.com>

Date: Fri, Oct 16, 2009 at 12:14 AM
Subject: Top Ten Reasons
To: shruthijoy@yahoo.co.in

  1. You love God with all your heart
  2. I like the way you like to spend time with God.
  3. the fact that you involve him in every decision of yours.
  4. I like how you just take time out when you go for a walk or drive or anything you do to talk to God.
  5. Your the most beautiful person i ever met.
  6. I never called anybody else princess except you because i think you are one.
  7. I like the way your dedicated at work even when you know your underpaid.
  8. I like the way you hold my hand, i feel very safe at that point very loved and cared.
  9. I like the way you take care of me and how you are concerned for me.
  10. I like the Fact that you make me feel important.

II Pet 1:5-9 – Make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; 6 and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; 7 and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. (List of few qualities that last)

2 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Just Joy and commented:

    On the fifth anniversary of my engagement, this is such a heart-warming post to read. You really write for yourself, but hardly realize it. Just reading that letter from Mark brought tears to my eyes.
    And while I’m at it, I think I must get a glorious massage sponsored again 🙂
    The special people mentioned in this post, are to this day, my closest and most trusted friends – Preethi, Elvis and Veena.

Leave a Reply

