Day 26 – Home Sweet Home


We found the perfect house, and today I went to check how it looked after the owner got it cleaned up. It is far away, but its gonna be ‘our’ house. A 3BHK independent house, for such a reasonable price, you won’t believe it.

We hunted for 2-3 days, and finally on the last day, as we set out, Mark, as a passing mention said we could check out Saket. We did. And as soon as we entered the very first house the agent took us to, we loved it. Both of us just walked into it, and I could not contain my smile. I just knew we found what we were looking for.

Today, as I walked in, I kept placing the sofa, the dining table, the dubbas in the kitchen shelf, and then I re-placed it – its better to have cane furniture, I debated with myself. I could not help but wonder what would give the hall that look, and what look? I don’t even know. I just know I want it to be cozy, and above all, I want it to be something we both love.

And what about the bedroom downstairs? We could turn it into a guest room, use the extra bedroom on the top floor for the prayer and media room, or should we use it for our work studio? What about curtains?

I also visited my friend Joshua’s house, whose sister Mahita, an interior designer did a fabulous job with everything. Then I visited another friend, Trishna, whose done up her house so well – just as cute as she is.

What soothed me was the fact that I don’t have to do it all at once. It could be done over a period of time. Little by little, we add up things to adorn the house.

I have been editing a lot of articles on interior design as well as part of my work, and I have observed what a keen eye for details these guys have. They can make your house,  to fit your personality-type and give it the exact mood you want to exude from each room. Amazing! And trust me, I’ve got nothing of that ‘eye.’

But no matter how well I do it up, and make space for ‘space’ in design, the biggest  challenge is not making a great  house, but building a good  home.

The wisest man, Solomon, said that life and death are in the power of the tongue. With words, we can build up, or with words, we can tear down the home. I hope my home will be built on words of love and encouragement. My friends Pastor Vikram and his wife Hitakshi, made a covenant at the start of their marriage – never to speak death into each other’s lives, but only speak life… never to condemn, but only to uplift. And they have kept up their word to each other ever since. Wow!

I love this song that I learnt in my vocal classes:

Oh, give me a home where the buffalo roam
Where the deer and the antelope play
Where seldom is heard a discouraging word
And the skies are not cloudy all day

“Where seldom is heard a discouraging word, and the skies are not cloudy all day” 

Help me Lord, to give ‘us’ that kind of a home…

Leave a Reply

